Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the legally recognised governing body of St. Thomas More Catholic School.  The government allocates funding in quarterly installments and the Board is responsible for ensuring that the children receive the best education possible.  This includes appointing staff, maintaining the property, abiding by the legal acts and laws.

The Board is made up of five parents elected by parents/caregivers, four Bishop’s appointees selected by the Parish Priest and approved by the Bishop, a staff representative and the Principal.

The Board meetings are held on the last Thursday of the month at 6.00 pm  at the school.  These meetings are open to the public.  NZ School Trustees Association (NZSTA) clarifies the role of members of the public attending BOT meetings, as follows.  Members of the public are always welcome to come in and sit in on all or part of a board meeting.  BOT meeting agendas are created by the BOT Chair and Principal and are usually quite full.  Meetings usually include a curriculum or learning focus, a Principal’s Report, Finance Report, Policy & Procedure review and a number of other items of business.  Anyone wishing to add an item to the agenda, must provide the item in writing to the BOT Chairperson or Principal at least ten days prior to the scheduled meeting.  Whether or not the item will appear on the next meeting’s agenda will depend firstly on whether the item is a governance matter appropriate to be discussed by the BOT, or a day to day management issue which is more appropriately dealt with by the Principal.  A second consideration is the number of items already on the agenda.  When members of the public attend meetings we have been advised that they do not have speaking rights unless invited to do so by the BOT.

Current Board

Members are, Mrs Carla Robertson (Chairperson, Parent Representative), , Mrs Ruth Dunne (Parent Representative),  Mr Luke Perrott (Parent Representative), Miss Kath Joblin (Principal), Mr Richard Webster (Staff Representative), Mrs Kerry Duncan (Deputy Principal) Mrs Cathy Bywater Lutman (Bishop’s Appointee) Fr Stuart Young (Bishops’ Appointee) and Mrs Trish Peacocke (Bishop’s Appointee).